Century Media Records - The Number ONE in Metal worldwide

Subscribe to Artist News
25 July 2012
Nachtmystium: launches part 3 of the making of 'Silencing Machine'; Punk News.org hosts exclusive NACHTMYSTIUM contest
Nachtmystium:  launches part 3 of the making of 'Silencing Machine'; Punk News.org hosts exclusive NACHTMYSTIUM contest
NACHTMYSTIUM launches part 3 of the making of 'Silencing Machine'; Punk News.org hosts exclusive NACHTMYSTIUM contest

On July 30th in Europe and July 31st in North America, the Chicago-based black metal outfit NACHTMYSTIUM is set to release Silencing Machine, their 6th full length album and next celebrated chapter in the band's storied career. To give fans a behind-the-scenes look at the making of Silencing Machine, NACHTMYSTIUM has now launched the third of five in-studio videos featuring exclusive footage and interviews with the band. Filmed and edited by Justin Baron, who recently did the YAKUZA documentary, part 3 spotlights bassist Will Lindsay, and it can be viewed here:


In anticipation of Silencing Machine's release, Punk News.org is hosting an exclusive contest that awards 1 winner a grand prize that includes a test pressing, cassette, and CD of Silencing Machine, plus a NACHTMYSTIUM shirt. For all contest details, please head over to Punk News.org:


Recorded at Engine Studios with the band's own synths/electronics specialist Sanford Parker (YOB, PELICAN) handling producer duties, Silencing Machine is, as front-man/lead guitarist Blake Judd puts it, "A fuckin' black metal record". For a preview of Silencing Machine, be sure to check out the album's recently released singles: "I Wait In Hell", "Decimation, Annihilation", "Borrowed Hope And Broken Dreams" and "Silencing Machine". The complete track-listing for Silencing Machine is below.

Silencing Machine track-listing
1. Dawn Over The Ruins Of Jerusalem
2. Silencing Machine
3. And I Control You
4. The Lepers Of Destitution
5. Borrowed Hope And Broken Dreams
6. I Wait In Hell
7. Decimation, Annihilation
8. Reduced To Ashes
9. Give Me The Grave
10. These Rooms In Which We Weep

Read on for a few reviews of the critically acclaimed Silencing Machine:

"['Silencing Machine' is] dirty, it's black metal and it's awesome." -- METAL INJECTION

"While not as outwardly experimental as 'Assassins' and 'Addicts' genre cross-breeding, 'Silencing Machine' still pushes [NACHTMYSTIUM's] sound forward, bringing the psychedelic and post-punk influences into an organic synthesis with their anthems to the welkin at midnight." -- DECIBEL MAGAZINE

"Frontman Blake Judd still smears riffs and pukes tar..." -- AV CLUB LOUD

"After releasing two albums--2008's 'Assassins: Black Meddle Part 1' and 2010's 'Addicts: Black Meddle Part 2'--that strayed significantly from the band's black metal roots, Chicago's NACHTMYSTIUM have returned to the wintry void with their latest, 'Silencing Machine.'" -- REVOLVER MAGAZINE

"NACHTMYSTIUM has always been the torchbearer when it comes to pushing black metal's boundaries to unthinkable, un-forest locales and while 2008's 'Assassins: Black Meddle Part I' and 2010's 'Addicts: Black Meddle Part II' were impressive bouts of exploratory surgeries, it is 'Silencing Machine' that is the true follow-up to NACHTMYSTIUM catalogue highlight 'Instinct: Decay'..." -- BRAVE WORDS

"...NACHTMYSTIUM has time and again shown that black metal is a many splendored thing, continuously stretching the walls of the genre to not only make waves, but create an undertow, nearly dragging their competition to drown in the darkened depths...'Silencing Machine' does not disappoint." -- METAL SUCKS

"The tracks are brutal, melodic, and powerful, merging all the best elements of NACHTMYSTIUM into one potent mix." -- HAILS AND HORNS

7/26--Des Moines, IA--Vaudeville Mews
7/31--Chicago, IL--Reggies Rock Club with KRIEG, MURMUR, DRUG HONKEY