Century Media Records - The Number ONE in Metal worldwide

Subscribe to Artist News
11 January 2013
Voivod: "Target Earth" formats and pre-order links unveiled; Special Mailorder-Box announced!
Voivod:  "Target Earth" formats and pre-order links unveiled; Special Mailorder-Box announced!
The wait is over soon! Canadian progressive metal pioneers VOIVOD will release their much anticipated 13th studio album, "Target Earth", via Century Media Records on the following international release dates:

GERMANY / AUSTRIA / SWITZERLAND / NORWAY: Friday, January 18, 2013.
NORTH AMERICA / SPAIN / ITALY: Tuesday, January 22, 2013.
SWEDEN / HUNGARY: Wednesday, January 23, 2013.
AUSTRALIA / NEW ZEALAND / FINLAND: Friday, January 25, 2013.

The time is come now to reveal the exact various formats for the release of "Target Earth" in Europe:

VOIVOD - "Target Earth" / Standard CD and Digital Download with the following tracklisting:
1. Target Earth (6:05)
2. Kluskap O'Kom (4:24)
3. Empathy for the Enemy (5:46)
4. Mechanical Mind (7:36)
5. Warchaic (7:01)
6. Resistance (6:46)
7. Kaleidos (6:28)
8. Corps Étranger (4:36)
9. Artefact (6:26)
10. Defiance (1:33)

"Target Earth" will also be available in the same tracklisting as Gatefold-2LP with 180gr. vinyl in the following versions/colours and amounts:
- Black (Unlimited)
- Transparent Red (200x copies, CM Webshop Europe)
- Transparent Blue (200x copies, NBR Mailorder)
- Orange (400x, CM USA)
- Purple (600x, CM USA)

Additionally, there will be limited edition deluxe pressing of "Target Earth" as Mediabook-CD with alternate frontcover (Silver on black!), 2 quality stickers, expanded booklet as well as the following two exclusive live bonus tracks recorded at the band's triumphant appearance at Roadburn festival 2012, which VOIVOD helped curate:

11. Target Earth [Live at Roadburn] (5:58)
12. Man In The Trees [Live at Roadburn] (3:39)

"Man In The Trees" is a very special Die Kreuzen cover version, featuring Daniel Kubinski of Die Kreuzen on vocals, who checked in with the following comment about the track and his appearance:

"I'm truly honored and thankful to have shared the stage with Voivod at Roadburn 2012 and I'm completely stoked we were able to cover one of Piggy's favorite Die Kreuzen songs, "Man in the Trees". The melding of Voivod and Die Kreuzen has been a long time coming and I am so glad we had the opportunity to play and record our performance together. I think our bands are open-minded within our creativity and like-minded in our approach to always stretch the boundaries and take our music to the next step!"

And last but not certainly least, "Target Earth" is released as CM Distro exclusive mailorder boxset in a numbered limited worldwide edition of 1,000 copies with the following content:
- "Target Earth" Mediabook CD (incl. 2 live bonus tracks and expanded artwork/alternate frontcover)
- "Live At Roadburn 2011" CD (Exclusive 10 song Live-CD with 4 pages booklet in jewel case; previously only released by Roadburn Records as limited LP version!)
- VOIVOD belt
- 1 poster (DINA3, Design of the Mediabook-CD cover artwork)
- 2 stickers (Included in the Mediabook-CD)
- 3 exclusive postcards with artwork by VOIVOD's Away

European customers, get your copy here before it's too late: www.cmdistro.de

The mailorder box, all other European physical formats as well as a shirt design of "Target Earth" (white print on black shirt or black print on grey shirt!) can be pre-ordered NOW from the CM Distro webshop here:

Previously, VOIVOD posted the official "Target Earth" EPK here:

For a first listen of "Target Earth", be sure to check out a stream of the album's title track "Target Earth" HERE as well as the album's first single (Released as Digital Download and as limited 7" EP) "Mechanical Mind" HERE

"Target Earth" was recorded at producer Pierre Rémillard's Wild Studios in Quebec and mixed by Sanford Parker (Pelican, Nachtmystium). The original art was once again drawn by drummer Away (Michel Langevin) and features color schemes from each one of the band's previous albums.

The album brings back original bass player, Blacky (Jean Yves Thériault), marking his first recordings with the band since 1991's "Angel Rat." It's also the first to feature guitarist, Chewy (Dan Mongrain), who cut his teeth playing guitar to the late Denis D'Amour's riffs and thus has matched his style to a tee. VOIVOD, as a full group, hadn't sat down to write a record together since 2003's self-titled album. The end result harkens back to the group's late 80s output and after 30 years together as a band, one of their best yet.

In other news, VOIVOD have recently confirmed to be appearing at Chile's "The Metal Fest" on April 14th, 2013 with bands such as Carcass, My Dying Bride, Devin Townsend Project, Down and many more. More details can be found here: www.themetalfest.cl

Further international tourdates and European festival appearances are currently in the works! And more news about VOIVOD and "Target Earth" soon...

VOIVOD online: