Century Media Records - The Number ONE in Metal worldwide

Subscribe to Artist News
21 August 2014
Sanctuary: premieres new track, "Arise and Purify", via Brave Words.com
Sanctuary:  premieres new track, "Arise and Purify", via Brave Words.com

Seattle's metal legends, SANCTUARY, have premiered the first single from their upcoming album, The Year The Sun Died, today via Brave Words.com! To hear "Arise and Purify"--the first new material from the band in 25 years--click the link below:


Due out October 6 in Europe and October 14 in North America via Century Media Records, The Year The Sun Died is the long-awaited follow-up to SANCTUARY's first two studio albums that were released on Epic Records: Refuge Denied (1987) and Into the Mirror Black (1989). Singer Warrel Dane's sky-high vocals combined with guitarist Lenny Rutledge's more mature take on classic thrash riffs separated the band from the throes of metal acts struggling to get noticed at the time. With The Year The Sun Died, SANCTUARY continues that legacy that they started decades ago, delivering yet another fresh take on "classic-sounding" metal. Featuring artwork by Travis Smith (OPETH, NEVERMORE) and mixed/produced by Zeuss (ROB ZOMBIE, SUICIDE SILENCE, CROWBAR, etc.), this upcoming album promises to be worth the wait.

The Year The Sun Died track-listing

1. Arise and Purify

2. Let The Serpent Follow Me

3. Exitium (Anthem of the Living)

4. Question Existence Fading

5. I Am Low

6. Frozen

7. One Final Day (Sworn to Believe)

8. The World is Wired

9. The Dying Age

10. Ad Vitam Aeternam

11. The Year the Sun Died

BONUS: "Waiting for the Sun" (THE DOORS cover; included on the mediabook, plus CD insert inside the LP)


Nov. 14 - Seattle, WA - S7

Nov. 15 - Vancouver, BC - Rickshaw

Nov. 16 - Portland, OR - Hawthorne

Nov. 19 - Anaheim, CA - The Grove

Nov. 20 - Las Vegas, NV - LVCS

Nov. 21 - Phoenix, AZ - Club Red

Nov. 22 - San Diego, CA - Ramona Mainstage

SANCTUARY line-up 2014:

Warrel Dane - Vocals

Lenny Rutledge - Guitars

Jim Sheppard - Bass

Dave Budbill - Drums

Brad Hull - Guitars