Century Media Records - The Number ONE in Metal worldwide

Subscribe to Artist News
02 June 2016
Witherscape: Launch first song off "The Northern Sanctuary" album; Reveal track-listing!
Witherscape:  Launch first song off "The Northern Sanctuary" album; Reveal track-listing!
In light of the upcoming worldwide release of their sophomore full-length album "The Northern Sanctuary" on July 22nd, 2016 via Century Media Records, Swedish progressive Death Metal duo WITHERSCAPE are now debuting the record's first track online.

"Wake Of Infinity" is the album's opening track and can now be checked out via a static video-clip on YouTube here:


Multi-instrumentalist and producer Dan Swanö (ex Edge Of Sanity/Bloodbath, Nightingale, etc.), who partners up with fellow Swedish multi-instrumentalist Ragnar Widerberg in WITHERSCAPE, checked in with the following comment about the song: "'Wake Of Infinity' is a good summary of the evolution of the WITHERSCAPE sound. Every corner of our sound has been slightly enhanced towards "more is more" and this track shows off the expansion in every part. The fastest we've ever been, the most melodic we've ever been...it's all here in this track, that we believe is the embodiment of WITHERSCAPE 2016."
The track-listing for WITHERSCAPE's "The Northern Sanctuary" album reads as follows:

WITHERSCAPE - "The Northern Sanctuary" (46:59):
1. Wake Of Infinity (04:38)
2. In The Eyes Of Idols (03:58)
3. Rapture Ballet (04:25)
4. The Examiner (05:03)
5. Marionette (04:37)
6. Divinity (03:02)
7. God Of Ruin (05:32)
8. The Northern Sanctuary (13:44)
9. Vila I Frid (01:54)

Following up on the refreshing impact of 2013's much acclaimed debut album "The Inheritance" ("Album of the month" by Germany's Rock Hard magazine and position # 97 in the official German sales charts) and 2014's complimentary "The New Tomorrow" EP, "The Northern Sanctuary" is yet another mesmerizingly dense conceptual album, enhanced by breathtakingly powerful artwork courtesy of Hungarian artist Gyula Havancsák /
(Nightingale, Destruction, Tyr, etc.).

Further music samples as well as details on album formats and pre-order options will be available soon...

Once more lyrically supported by Paul Kuhr (Novembers Doom), WITHERSCAPE continue the storyline launched with the debut album, while musically "The Northern Sanctuary" seamlessly blends the best elements of the band's 70's/80's Prog/Hardrock and even AOR roots with contemporary, yet always atmospheric and subtle extreme Metal. Its infectious catchiness will doubtlessly appeal to the passionate followers of Swanö's diverse artistic catalogue, but also to fans of bands like Opeth, Amorphis or Symphony X.

Feel free to also check back on music from the previous WITHERSCAPE releases:
"Dead For A Day" lyric video:

"Astrid Falls" song stream:

"The Math Of The Myth" song stream:

"The New Tomorrow" song stream:

And in related Swanö news, don't forget to check out the "complete works" collection with 40+ tracks by Swanö's former brutal US-style Death Metal project INFESTDEAD released last week as "Satanic Serenades" on 2CD, 2LP and Digital Download via Century Media Records.

Two songs from INFESTDEAD's "Satanic Serenades" can be heard here:
"Re-Resurrection" (from "JesuSatan" album):

"Angeldemon" (from "Hellfuck" album):

Visit CM Distro for INFESTDEAD in your format of choice:

Dan Swanö - Vocals, Keyboards and Drums
Ragnar Widerberg - Guitars and Bass

WITHERSCAPE Discography:
The Inheritance - 2013
The New Tomorrow - EP 2014
The Northern Sanctuary - 2016