Century Media Records - The Number ONE in Metal worldwide

Subscribe to Artist News
22 July 2016
Witherscape: "The Northern Sanctuary" out NOW!
Witherscape:  "The Northern Sanctuary" out NOW!
The release of the sophomore full-length album "The Northern Sanctuary" by Swedish progressive Death Metal duo WITHERSCAPE takes place today (Italian street date; July 29th!) via Century Media Records.

"The Northern Sanctuary" is receiving amazing press response with some of the highlights being:

"Album of the Month!" - Sweden Rock Magazine (SE)
"Album of the Month!" - Aardschok Magazine (NL)
# 2 Soundcheck - Legacy Magazine (DE)
# 2 Soundcheck - Rock Hard Magazine (DE)
# 3 Soundcheck - Metal Hammer Magazine (DE)

Multi-instrumentalist and producer Dan Swanö (ex Edge Of Sanity/Bloodbath, Nightingale, etc.), who partners up with fellow Swedish multi-instrumentalist Ragnar Widerberg in WITHERSCAPE, checked in to comment about the album release and the reactions so far as follows: "We are truly amazed by the response so far! We knew we had something special going on, and it is such a reward to see that so many people agree with the evolution of our sound. Makes all the hard work in the past years worth while".

Check out two tracks from the new album launched online here:
"In The Eyes Of Idols" (lyric-video): YouTube
"Wake Of Infinity": YouTube
The track-listing for WITHERSCAPE's "The Northern Sanctuary" album reads as follows:

WITHERSCAPE - "The Northern Sanctuary" (46:59):
1. Wake Of Infinity (04:38)
2. In The Eyes Of Idols (03:58)
3. Rapture Ballet (04:25)
4. The Examiner (05:03)
5. Marionette (04:37)
6. Divinity (03:02)
7. God Of Ruin (05:32)
8. The Northern Sanctuary (13:44)
9. Vila I Frid (01:54)

Next to the standard jewel case version, "The Northern Sanctuary" is also be available as limited edition Mediabook 2CD including the album as "full dynamic mix" and ROM part with instrumentals as its bonus disc. The LP version comes as Gatefold 180gr vinyl release in its "full dynamic mix" and include a poster (see above for the design!) and the full standard album on CD as bonus. The LP format is available in the following vinyl options:

Black (unlimited)
Transparent Red (limited to 100x copies, EU webshop)
Clear (limited to 200x copies, EU webshop / CM Distro EU)
Neon Orange (limited to 200x copies, CM Distro USA)

Get the album here from CM Distro in various physical options: CM Distro
Or here:
Amazon MP3

An album bundle offer with a special WITHERSCAPE shirt is available at EMP here:
Ltd. CD + Shirt: EMP
CD + Shirt: EMP
LP + Shirt: EMP

Following up on the refreshing impact of 2013's much acclaimed debut album "The Inheritance" ("Album of the month" by Germany's Rock Hard magazine and position # 97 in the official German sales charts) and 2014's complimentary "The New Tomorrow" EP, "The Northern Sanctuary" is yet another mesmerizingly dense conceptual album, enhanced by breathtakingly powerful artwork courtesy of Hungarian artist Gyula Havancsák (Nightingale, Destruction, Tyr, etc.).

WITHERSCAPE's "The Northern Sanctuary" seamlessly blends the best elements of the band's 70's/80's Prog/Hardrock and even AOR roots with contemporary, yet always atmospheric and subtle extreme Metal. Its infectious catchiness will doubtlessly appeal to the passionate followers of Swanö's diverse artistic catalogue, but also to fans of bands like Opeth, Amorphis or Symphony X.

Dan Swanö - Vocals, Keyboards and Drums
Ragnar Widerberg - Guitars and Bass

WITHERSCAPE Discography:
The Inheritance - 2013
The New Tomorrow - EP 2014
The Northern Sanctuary - 2016