Century Media Records - The Number ONE in Metal worldwide

Subscribe to Artist News
10 July 2008
Jeff Loomis: First solo album to be released in August 2008!
Jeff Loomis:  First solo album to be released in August 2008!
JEFF LOOMIS' complex shredding has been a central part of the progressive but powerful and thrashy edge often attributed to NEVERMORE’s trademark sound since the band’s formation in 1992. As the band’s lone permanent guitarist, he’s been responsible for some of the most awe-inspiring riffs modern metal has ever heard. Taking the classic techniques he learned from listening to legends like Jason Becker and Yngwie Malmsteen as a teen and applying his own ingenuity, Loomis has carved his own niche and created an instantly recognizable style. As a result of his invaluable contributions to Nevermore’s success, fans have been calling for a JEFF LOOMIS solo album for years. With most in the band taking a rare and much-deserved break (singer Warrel Dane just released his solo album "Praises To The War Machine" in April 2008), after six albums with Nevermore Loomis finally had the opportunity to hit the studio himself and the outcome entitled “Zero Order Phase” is nothing short of remarkable.

Robert Lang Studios played host to Loomis’ first solo, all-instrumental venture earlier this year with producer Neil Kernon and drummer Mark Arrington joining the fray, Loomis reveals more about this collaboration:

“I'm proud to say everything is done with my new instrumental CD "Zero Order Phase". This has been something I've wanted to do for a long time, and the timing couldn't have been better. I feel very fortunate to have worked with so many great talents that include Ron Jarzombek (Watchtower, on “Jato Unit”), Michael Manring, and Pat O' Brien (Cannibal Corpse, on “Rage Against Disaster”) as guest solo musicians who have all contributed to this project. Working with Neil Kernon again was also great. He really pushed my playing to a different level, and also made me think differently than my usual approach to guitar playing. Last but not least, I'd like to mention my great friend Mark Arrington (Mark played on half of the very first Nevermore CD back when the band first started). We shared a certain chemistry while recording in the studio that made things laid back but really intense at the same time musically. I hope Nevermore fans enjoy this as much as I had a great time doing it.”

Everybody who wants to watch Jeff's live skills can also look forward to the upcoming first NEVERMORE DVD/Live Album "The Year Of The Voyager" which will be released October 20th, 2008, in Europe.

“Zero Order Phase” – JEFF LOOMIS first solo album will be released on the following dates:
UK / DENMARK / NORWAY / REST OF EUROPE: Monday, August 25, 2008.
SPAIN / PORTUGAL: Tuesday, August 26, 2008.
SWEDEN / FINLAND / HUNGARY: Wednesday, August 27, 2008.
GREECE: Monday, September 1, 2008.
ITALY: Friday, September 5, 2008.
FRANCE: Monday, September 8, 2008.

See below for the exact track-listing for “Zero Order Phase”:
1. Shouting Fire At A Funeral (4:54)
2. Opulent Maelstrom (6:08)
3. Jato Unit (4:42)
4. Azure Haze (5:00)
5. Cashmere Shiv (6:17)
6. Race against Disaster (6:13)
7. Sacristy (4:50)
8. Devil Theory (6:16)
9. Miles of Machines (5:45)
10. Departure (3:57)

Further info can be obtained on the following websites:

Also visit:

Travel With The Devil! @ https://www.rock-voyager.com