Century Media Records - The Number ONE in Metal worldwide

Subscribe to Artist News
09 November 2009
Armageddon: Melodic metal project of Arch Enemy guitarist Chris Amott to be re-released via Century Media; “Embrace The Mystery & Three” artwork and track-listing announced!
Armageddon:  Melodic metal project of Arch Enemy guitarist Chris Amott to be re-released via Century Media; “Embrace The Mystery & Three” artwork and track-listing announced!
Sweden’s ARMAGEDDON are the melodic metal project of Arch Enemy guitarist Chris Amott and "Embrace The Mystery & Three" finally sees their second ("Embrace The Mystery") and third ("Three") albums getting a proper and domestic release outside of Japan, where they originally came out back in the years 2000 and 2002, respectively. "Embrace The Mystery & Three" will be released as 2CD set with upgraded artwork, several bonus tracks and liner notes on November 16th, 2009 in Europe and on January 26th in North America via Century Media Records.

Chris Amott comments the release as follows: "It is with great pleasure that I announce the first time ever release of these albums in Europe and the US! Any fan of melodic hard rock and shred guitar playing should check this out - "Embrace the Mystery" and "Three" feature many great instrumental performances and epic songs! These two albums were recorded in 2000 and 2002 and have until only been available in Japan. I put a lot of work into these recordings at the time, so I am glad to see them come out!"
Originally formed in Halmstad / Sweden in 1997, ARMAGEDDON was launched as a melodic death metal act with their debut album "Crossing The Rubicon" released via the now defunct W.A.R. Records label in Europe and Toy's Factory in Japan. Next to guitarist and mastermind Chris Amott, the album also featured drummer Peter Wildoer (Darkane, Majestic, now also in Pestilence) and bassist Martin Bengtsson, who both then moved on to join Arch Enemy, recording, releasing and touring Arch Enemy’s 1998 “Stigmata” release. Chris revisited ARMAGEDDON with 2000's "Embrace The Mystery" album, once again released in Japan on Toy's Factory but never available internationally. This album presented a rather melodic and traditional metal approach and featured Last Tribe member Rickard Bengtsson on vocals, Dick Lövgren on bass (now member of Meshuggah but previously tour-bassist for bands like Eucharist, Arch Enemy or In Flames) as well as Arch Enemy drummer Daniel Erlandsson (also previously active with Eucharist and In Flames and with the re-united Carcass these days). Following the album's release ARMAGEDDON supported In Flames and The Haunted on a Japanese tour, which remain the only live-performances for the band until now. In 2002 ARMAGEDDON released their third and so far last album exclusively in Japan again. Simply entitled "Three", it showcases ARMAGEDDON as a three-piece with Chris Amott handling all vocal duties next to playing guitar as well as Daniel Erlandsson on drums and new bassist Tobias Gustafsson (Eucharist).

The "Embrace The Mystery & Three" 2CD set marks the long-overdue international release of these two jewels of modern Scandinavian melodic metal, not only including the full original versions of both albums packaged in a revamped version of the original "Embrace The Mystery" artwork by Niklas Sundin (Dark Tranquillity, Arch Enemy, In Flames), but also comes with 6 special bonus tracks (demo and rehearsal songs as well as cover versions of Iron Maiden and Mercyful Fate) and liner notes by Chris Amott. "Embrace The Mystery & Three" isn’t only an essential historical release for collectors of the mentioned main bands of the involved high-quality players but with its total of 26 tracks and +100 minutes of playing time it also represents a worthwhile purchase for supporters of the melodic metal genre in general!

ARMAGEDDON – "Embrace The Mystery & Three" 2CD (102:26) Tracklisting:

CD 1 "Embrace The Mystery" (47:45):
1. Awakening (0:38)
2. The Broken Spell (4:29)
3. Blind Fury (4:07)
4. Worlds Apart (3:06)
5. Cry Of Fate (5:07)
6. Illusions Tale (4:22)
7. Moongate Climber (2:45)
8. Embrace The Mystery (3:25)
9. Sleep Of Innocence (3:51)
10. Grain Of Sand (3:38)
11. Worlds Apart (Rehearsal) (3:03) *
12. The Broken Spell (Rehearsal) (3:42) *
13. Die With Your Boots On (Iron Maiden Cover) (5:33) *
* Bonus Tracks

CD 2 "Three" (54:41):
1. Gathering Of The Storm (0:59)
2. Burn The Sun (4:25)
3. Stranglehold (4:39)
4. Heart Of Ice (3:53)
5. Well Of Sadness (6:04)
6. Rainbow Serpent (4:37)
7. Winter Skies (4:02)
8. Final Destination (4:29)
9. Spirit Kiss (2:17)
10. The Contract (5:04)
11. Winter Skies (Demo) (4:05) *
12. Sands Of Time (Demo) (5:46) *
13. Desecration Of Souls (Mercyful Fate Cover) (4:21) *
* Bonus Tracks

More details at: